Neglect

Hannah just approached me after I had spent a decent 1/2 hour on here ignoring her.

(Not so) Devil Child: “Mum, I need to go to bed.”

Me: “Oh, would you like me to read a story to you?”

Devil Child: “No, I already did it.”

Me: “You read yourself a book?”

Devil Child: “Yeah.”

And all that was required was for me to place her in bed and tuck her in. How freaking self sufficient is that?!? Genius!! Did I mention that most morning she helps herself to breakfast too? This neglect business is absolutely key for raising children. Really. Do try it.

And now for bloggified neglect – It’s so sunny outside, so I’m gonna get my butt off the computer and then hang out some washing and drink my tea in the sunshine. Yay.

So, just to keep you going and for those who are interested – here’s my carrot cake recipe. It’s looooovely, if I do say so myself! 😛 Next time I will take pics and show you all, but until then – get out there and make one yourself!

Carrot Cake
A fusion of recipes and usually made with the most casual of measurements!

Note: Not for those who are dieting or predisposed to heart disease

2 cups Flour
2 tsp Baking Powder
1 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1 tsp Salt
2 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
4 Eggs
1/2 cup Butter
3/4 cup Oil
2 cups Sugar
2 3/4 cups Grated Carrot (usually about 2 decent sized carrots)
225g tin of Crushed Pineapple (drained)
1 cup Walnuts (chopped)

Preheat oven to 165 degrees
Mix dry ingredients (up to cinnamon)
Mix wet and sugar
Add dry to wet
Add carrot, pineapple, and walnuts

Bake for 35-40 minutes (THEY LIE – Usually takes about twice that… check with skewer)

AND… how could I forget?

Cream Cheese Icing
125g Cream Cheese
2 1/2 tsp Butter
1 tsp Vanilla Essence
1 1/4 cup Icing Sugar

I usually end up using a whole pile more icing sugar, but that is probably because I soften the cream cheese and butter in the microwave first.

And yep, top with walnuts!

Leave a Reply

