Pat-a-cake, pat-a-cake


Hello again.

I had grand ambitions of having the blog post of the century. Seems this handcraft business is getting further and further away from me… rats. Let me tell you how my craft schedule works at present.

Weekdays – I knit on the bus and at home while watching the TV shows I am addicted to.
Weekends – I ignore the kid so I can sew aplenty.

So, just to avoid further disappointment, weekdays will be full of rambling and possibly knitting projects in progress (thoroughly boring unless you knit… and then it will be mildly boring). Weekends will be more rambling and potential sewy stuff. So unless you actually like my rambling, things may get a tad tedious round here.

Anywayyyyy, to tide you over, here is the recipe to the Lemon Meringue Pie I fecked up baked a while back. Kimberlee of the Anemone persuasion asked for it and I thought “hey! good excuse for a blog post!” and here I am. Unfortunately I took too long for her liking (the LM pie craving had hit her hard) and she managed to make one without me. But her recipe had no sugar in the lemon curd. SACRE BLEU! What is lemon curd without the sugar? Not a whole lot, I imagine.

Lemon Meringue Pie – Australian Women’s Weekly ‘Cooking Class’ Cookbook (Class as in classsy not as in school. Definitely.)

Pastry
2 cups of plain flour
pinch salt
1 T icing sugar
185g butter
1 T lemon juice
1-2 T water

Filling
4 T plain flour
4 T corn flour
2 t grated lemon rind
3/4 c lemon juice
1 c sugar

1 1/4 c water
90g butter
4 egg yolks

Meringue
4 egg whites
2 T water
pinch salt
3/4 c castor sugar

1. Sift flour, salt and icing sugar into basin; chop butter roughly, add to dry ingredients, rub in until mixture resembles coarse breadcrumbs. Add lemon juice and enough water to mix to a firm dough. Refrigerate 30 minutes. Roll pastry on lightly floured surface to fit 23cm pie plate. Use rolling pin to lift pastry onto plate.

2. Trim and decorate edges. Prick base and sides of pastry with fork. Bake in moderately hot oven (180 deg C) 10-15 minutes, or until lightly browned. Allow to cool.

3. Combine sifted flours, lemon rind, lemon juice and sugar in saucepan. Add water, blend until smooth, stir over heat until mixture boils and thickens; this is important, the mixture must boil. Reduce heat, stir a further 2 minutes. Remove from heat, stir in butter and lightly beaten egg yolks, stir until butter has melted. Cool.

4. Spread cold lemon filling evenly into pastry case. Combine egg-whites, water and salt in small bowl of electric mixer. Beat on high speed until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar, beat well until sugar has dissolved. Spoon on top of lemon filling, spreading meringue to edges of pie to seal; peak meringue decoratively with knife. Bake in moderate over 5 to 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool, then refrigerate.

TIP: (That I clearly didn’t read when making my pie) Use a knife dipped in warm water to cut the pie – this ensures that the meringue cuts cleanly.

Oh yeah, and maman was sorta impressed, sorta appalled when she saw my rendition of her famous lemon meringue pie so she sent me a proper pie dish! Yahoooo! No more squidgy, fallen off meringue. My next one will look as pretty as Kimberlee’s version.

AND for those that care about knitting or were intrigued by this “Forest Fairy Princess Dress” then here ya go. Apologies for the misleading nature of the name. Please remember that the name is purely to win the heart of a Disney obsessed red-headed devil child and in actual fact doesn’t relate at all to the style of the dress.

Colour is crap too. But that’s whatcha get when you take photos at night.

3 thoughts on “Pat-a-cake, pat-a-cake

  1. No my baby…. TOTALLY impressed!! You know how you plan to only have more children when Hannah can babysit?? Well guess what, I don’t have to be a mother anymore… you’re it!! (well, those two things related in MY mind… but you know how that goes!) and now chief in charge of lemon meringue pie, roast pork dinner and Dana’s yummy chocolate cake. I pass the reins to you, you’re doing a far better job than I ever did xxxxx Maman

    Like

Leave a Reply

