When white lies backfire

This morning as Hannah was chewing her way through her toast and discarding the crusts, I attempted to negotiate some crust-eating. And by negotiation, I mean bribe. With chocolate. Doesn’t everyone do that? heh.

Anyway, her response to my request to eat the crusts was: “But I want to have plaits!”

Me: “You can have plaits. I’ll do them after. Now eat your crusts!”

Han: “Noooooo. I want plaiiiiiiiittttttttsssssss!”

At which point I was thoroughly confused. Then she elaborated her whinge…

“I don’t waaaaaaaant curly haaaaaaaaair!”

Me: “Ohhhhhhhhh right. Errrr.”

Apparently, somewhere along the way someone has given Hannah the “if you eat your crusts, your hair will go curly!” line.

3 thoughts on “When white lies backfire

  1. Ahahahaha! Classic. Welcome to my world – where your kid always knows better than you (just you wait *insert evil smiley here*

    Like

  2. Heh. I had the same problem when I was a kid. So my uncle told me that it was actually the other way around, and crust eating would make my teeth grow curly and my hair grow straight.

    Like

Leave a Reply

