Redemption

She collected this little posy of weeds for me and brought it in with the mail when returning from her friend’s house. I heard her say to her friend “My mum is going to be so happy with me!” as she walked up the path to the front door. She was so right.

* * *

On the phone last night with my sister Hannah confessed that she hoped that I would forget it was a school day on Friday so she could go to Hamilton earlier to see her. She ran into my room this morning and asked “Mum, can I watch TV this morning?” and when I informed her that it was a school day [and apparently foiled her plan], she gave me the silent treatment for about 15 minutes.

* * *

As she dipped her soldiers in her perfectly boiled egg tonight she exclaimed “You’re the Master of Eggs, Mum!”

* * *

Her little puzzle given to me as we were sitting on the couch, “I’m going to miss out a word and you have to guess what it is: ‘I … a cuddle'”

7 thoughts on “Redemption

  1. Dear Nikki

    You just made me go 'aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh”(in a good way!) out loud!When they are cute, they are cute!

    I rebuked my Mr 8 year old for some comment with “Don't be such a smartass” and he came straight back with “Mom, it's not the ass doing the talking!”
    Failed miserably at keeping a straight face with that one!

    Love the new knitted top,BTW.

    Jennie

    Like

Leave a Reply

