The shoes that lasted 5 days

The shoes that lasted 5 days
Why is it that a child can keep hold a cheap pair of shoes, they wear out really fast and look horrible, cause blisters etc, but the MOMENT you buy a pair of expensive shoes, they lose them?
I’ve held out hope all week that her new fancy schmancy, comfy, cute, leather school shoes would turn up. She wore them for a grand total of 5 days before they disappeared. Yes, they were named. We’re on day 4 of the hunt and they are no where to be seen. I’m starting to feel sick.
I guess my problem is that I don’t want to buy her cheap shoes as that means I’ll have to acknowledge that she’ll more than likely lose them again. I’m not quite ready for that.
3 thoughts on “The shoes that lasted 5 days

  1. Argh, I can so relate to this!
    Ella lost her expensive (by my standards) comfortable, cool-looking school shoes 2 weeks ago.
    Luckily they'd lasted more than 5 days for us, but it is the second pair to go missing.
    When we went to look for them in the lost property box another mum was berating her slightly older child for losing hers too. We exchanged knowing smiles and then she gave an exasperated sigh and said “Just take these ones, they're your size!”
    I was too shocked to say anything as she frogmarched her daughter away but I'm looking suspiciously at the feet of all the Ella-sized girls I see now in case this is a policy other parents live by too.
    I felt slightly less guilty buying clunky, ugly, probably-bad-for-her-feet Warehouse ones for Ella after that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

