We’re going our separate ways

The child and I, that is. And for 45 minutes per week. Namely when ballet class is running. The behaviour that I was hoping was a one off when she started ballet was apparently as she meant to go on. Culminating in a teary breakdown while hiding in the community hall kitchen. My tears, not the kid’s. She was having a grand old time prancing around completely ignoring her teacher. Not entirely the mother-daughter bonding time I’d hoped for.

The solution: she goes to ballet and I spend time knitting. No more tears. We have an agreement whereby I ask her at the end of the lesson if she’s been good enough for a treat, and she unflinchingly responds in the affirmative. We all know that’s a blatant lie, but in the interests of maintaining sanity, I play along.

I’ve also found an adult open class that runs on Tuesday lunchtimes just down the road from my work. So who knows, perhaps we can stage a duet together in our own beautifully choreographed pantomime. As it turns out, she’s not the only one who chooses to march[/dance] to the beat of her own drum…

 Thanks to my mum for bringing these up to really rub it in my face that I’m just getting what I deserve after what I put her through.

2 thoughts on “We’re going our separate ways

  1. Awwwwww, you were adorable! I can remember leaving a Jumping Beans class in tears after watching all other kids climbing and rolling and jumping along with the intructors while mine tootled around the edges ignoring everyone else. These days I'm glad she marches to the beat of her own drum, back then I wanted the floor to open up and swallow me. And her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

