The bestest

This week has been quite average. I didn’t realise it until tonight when I burst into tears and didn’t quite know how to stop. But the kidlet, she’s awesome. She always looks after me when I’m upset. She heard me crying and came out to find me drying my eyes on a towel in the bathroom. She took my hand and led me back to her bed where she wrapped her arms around my neck and rocked me back and forth. She asked what was wrong and I started to tell her. She didn’t offer anything, just listened while she cuddled me.

It’s always been like this. Not that it happens often… but sometimes when it’s all too much and I end up in tears, the kidlet is always the one to be able to get me through it. One time when I was crying in the car, she sang me songs to make me feel better. Another time, when I was heart broken, she gave me the four year old version of the “There’s plenty more fish in the sea” speech.

I don’t know how I ended up with such a wise little girl. Freaking lucky though, as I don’t know what I’d do without her.

7 thoughts on “The bestest

  1. hey hey
    yeah, me. longtime no visit. love the heart of your girlie, love that our kids totally 'get' us. love that you've moved to the west – i spent 30ish years in bhb, te atatutu etc before we moved here to the sunny bay. (followed ya on twitter too. my twitter-return should last approx 2 weeks) x x

    Like

Leave a Reply

